Shmoop No More

Hey  guys. Well I can officially say I know what it feels like as a freelance contractor to be let go. Now my contract was pretty long from December 2013 to July 2015. I would say that’s a good amount of time in a place, especially since I was in the office first as a production assistant and then switched over to remote editing.  I wished they could have waited at least a day instead of emailing me on my birthday and everything. That was sort of a bummer. Happy 24th birthday, you’re  being let go. 😦 Yea not the greatest feeling but what can you do? Just move on really.

“When one door closes, another door opens or several if your thats awesome.” – Practically everyone I’ve talked too

I’m currently working with someone on another project that I don’t want to give away just yet. 🙂 It’s pretty awesome. I can say though it is with Viacom, which is a place I have been trying to get into since I graduated college.  Incredible right?!  I have also been in contact with another great person and hopefully soon will be getting to do some more projects in filming and editing. I will have to say, being a remote editor was quite nice. Work the hours I wanted, take breaks when I wanted, and I still got to do a lot of other things (Film Youtube videos, hang out with friends, workout…) when ever I wanted. It was nice and I can see the appeal of doing what I want, when I want as long I still get paid for doing more work. The only down sides of all of this was no more interacting with coworkers in the office, motivation wasn’t always there,  and I was only paid monthly. I have missed complete months for the invoice so I wouldn’t even get paid until the next month. I really hated when I did that. In all it was a good time being a part of Shmoop and getting to create videos for them and everything.  I will miss the awesomely small video team when I was in office (Courtney, Dylan and Jessica). They were great and the company is pretty awesome. I always say this when I would talk bout the company:

” I wished this was around when I was in high school. I would have stayed in APUSH (Advanced Placement United States History).”

Well this is all I have to say. Have any of you been let go from a job? How did you feel and what did you do next? Leave in the comments below. I would love to hear your answers 😀 Byes loves! ~ Alyssa  G

Leave a lovely message :)

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑