Feature Experience

Hey loves!

Well roughly 2 months ago I was a part of a feature film! I know, it was exciting. A good friend and colleague of mine from school called me up, asking for my help with his feature. When I was in college, many of my colleagues would always ask for my assistance when it came to organizing their film. Pretty much, I was everyone’s fist assistant director in film school and I LOVED IT! I knew every detail of the script, people crew positions and I can yell at anyone who wasn’t doing their part to help improve the production. It was a wonderful time, at least for me. 😀

But back to what I was talking about. Oh Yea!

343956_d30d07aedc454db88feaf5b01f403482.jpg_srb_p_306_459_75_22_0.50_1.20_0The thing is, I never actually got to work with Eduardo Castillo when we were in school together. We had many classes together and did small in class projects, I think, but never an actual film. He knows I love organizing, keeping everything together and making sure things go smoothly as possible as they can on a film set. So he called me up asking for help in his 2nd feature film he was doing. ( His first feature was is senior thesis called, ” The Wolf of Ezo” which you can actually buy in stores!!)

Now, he brought me onto the project 3 days into the filming already, so let just say… there was a much needed organization that had to be settled down and mulled over. The one thing about Eduardo that I love is that he is very visual and simple. What he see’s in his head is what we shoot. Now , the thing with him is…it’s sometimes stuck in his head and it’s not on paper. That’s where I come in!

Every night I would make him draw out his shooting list, and go over the scenes that we have accomplished that day or need to shoot in the next comings of days. This film was a lot of fun and I got to meet 2 big named actors: Tom Sizemore and Eric Roberts.

MV5BMjMyMzMxOTAyOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDQ0NjcxNw@@._V1_UY317_CR15,0,214,317_AL_ MV5BMTQ2MTk3OTgwM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODE1OTIwMw@@._V1_UY317_CR7,0,214,317_AL_ IMG_3625

Now working with 2 well known actors, you think things would go smoothly on those days…. NO. Let’s just say, being on time is not on their schedule or at least for one. Also agents like to play this game called  “miscommunication” and let the crew and several people sort of run around like a chicken with their head cut off to try and fix the problem.  But hey, it was all an experience!!  And we all got through those days, so really, no harm done.

IMG_3603I had several favorite moments while being on this film set. The cast was hilarious and just exquisite to hang out with. Their acting was marvelous and for being around “bigger” named actors, they sure just rolled along like it was no biggie. LOVED EVERY MOMENT WITH THEM! When we were shooting out in the woods of Sunol, Joe who owned the farm we were shooting at, had a ATV and I have always wanted to go in one of them! So after driving everyone out of a certain location, he saved the last ride for me (He knew I wanted to ride in it so bad) and actually and took the off course ride all up and down the mountains. IT WAS SO MUCH FUN!!! The bumps, dips, and just crazy roller coaster like riding was thrilling. Actually, DK, the fantabulous Cinematographer, was riding in the back and I’m pretty sure he held on for dear life because  the ride Joe took me on was incredibly rocky, scary and fast!

Another great moment was hiding behind a wooden wall to work the blood machine. I can’t tell you any details but someone does have to die a brutal death and to make that happen with not only special effects, we had this cool power pressure  blood splatter machine thing. At a certain point I had to hit a button and let the blood splatter all over. You think it would be easy, but since I had no visual reference to go on, I had to listen to the sound and hope for the best. To be honest, I have no idea if it even came out as good as it sounded when I was doing it, but if it did….I helped  do that.  😀

IMG_3615 IMG_3594

IMG_3601

There were many nights where I would be with Eduardo and with the help of his INCREDIBLE mother, just getting things ready for tomorrow and making sure we didn’t miss anything that day. It was an incredible experience!! Yes there were times where stress levels were going through the roof, my annoyance of telling the time were unbearable, especially when we had to rush, traveling in cars up a hill was most dangerous and trying to fit a 40 page script into a 10 day period will make anyone crazy. But the amazing crew from History in the Making and Uncia Films made the production incredibly adventurous and I was honored to meet phenomenal actors through out my time on set. In all, this was an experience of a life time that I was very grateful to have been a part of.

Thanks Eduardo for calling me up.

TTYL

~ Alyssa G

Leave a lovely message :)

