Video Editing Life For Me

Work From Home

Ello Internet friends! How are you this fine day?

You all may know or not, but I am a remote editor. What does that mean? Well it means I get to make and create videos at home for a company. ย WHAT COMPANY?

Well in my older blog post I had mentioned working for Shmoop; however, as a office production assistant. What that meant was I helped with the live videos in the office and some of the website documents, link and all that jazz. They had moved me from that position to a remote editor because of some changes that were happening inside the company and video team. Now instead of going into the office and working, I now get to work from home. ๐Ÿ™‚

If any of you have worked from home, you all can relate that its a blessing and sometimes a pain. Here are the Pros of working at home:

  • Make your own hours
  • Self motivated
  • No outside/office noise
  • Can multitask other projects (not work related)
  • Can take a long lunch or breaks whenever
  • Donโ€™t really have to dress up (Pj Mondays!)

Now here are some of the Cons (just to keep in mind)

  • ITS ALL SELF MOTIVATED
  • Pay Rate = Project based not hourly
  • Distracted very easily
  • Laziness can happen (Be careful!)
  • Can get monotonous (Schedule wise, not video)

At first it was great being at home but it was difficult at times because I have never really done this before and I didnโ€™t know how to work around this position just yet. Over time and many weeks of trying a different schedule for myself, I have found a happy pace that I can work with and I am able to do other things as well as doing thisย job.ย 

Working at home maybe some peoples dream, but if not careful it can make you less productive. Iโ€™m not going to lie, there are times where I just donโ€™t want to do anything on the computer, but I get over it and I find new things and ways to help my productivity throughout the day and improve my progress on the videos that I have done and loved.ย 

Did I always loved editing? Not while I was in school, but this kind of editing that I have done is very different from what I did in school and its fun to physically create characters and special effects that I know many people will watch.

Well thats all I have for now. Let me know if any of you have or do work from home? Do you like it and would you or will you stay with it?

Leave me a comment with your answers and I will talk with you all later.

Bye loves!

XOXO ALYSSA G

Leave a lovely message :)

